How to create a Share on a My Cloud device



A Share is an area on the My Cloud device for storing files. The device will allow multiple users access to a Share and the ability to provide different levels of access for those users.

Note:
Screen Shots may vary depending on the version of the My Cloud device.

Creating a Share

  1. From the main page of the My Cloud Dashboard, click the Shares button of the Navigation bar. For assistance accessing the Dashboard, please see Answer ID 13965: How to access the Dashboard on a My Cloud device.

    Image


  2. Click on the Add a Share icon

    Image


  3. An Add Share dialog box will be displayed. Enter a Share name

    Image


  4. Click on Apply

    Image


  5. The new Share has been created and is listed in the left side panel with other existing shares. Click on the Share to view the Share Profile

    Image


  6. By defualt Public Access option is set to On. Changing it to Off will set the Share to be Private and will allow custom access to be given to other users

    Image


  7. When logged in to the device as the Administrator, User Access can be set for all users

    • Read/Write: Users with this permission level will be able to add, remove and modify files and folders within a specific share
    • Read Only: Users with this permission level will be able to view, open and copy files and folders within a specific share.
      Files and folders within a read-only share cannot be modified or deleted
    • Deny Access: Users with this permission level will be denied any access to the files and folders within a specific share

    Image


Deleting a Share

STOP Critical: Deleting a Share will erase all files and folders on the share. This process is Data Destructive and cannot be undone. Once the Share is deleted, ALL DATA ON THE SHARE WILL BE LOST.

  1. Click on the Share to be deleted

    Image


  2. Click on the Delete a Share icon

    Image


  3. A Delete Share dialog box will be displayed. Click on OK

    Image


Return to Top


Applied Products:



In case the answer did not answer your question, you can always visit the WD Community for help from WD users.

Please rate the helpfulness of this answer