How to Reset a My Book Live or My Book Live Duo


Resetting the My Book Live or My Book Live Duo


Pressing the reset button while the device is powered on resets the password to the default value of {none/blank} and to default IP settings DHCP.
A pin reset is not data destructive, does not delete or erase files.


Follow the instructions below to reset the device using the reset button:
IMPORTANT Important: Do not move the device while it is turned on. If you do not have access to the back of the device, unplug the device from the power source, turn the device around so you do have access, and then plug the drive in again.

  1. With the device powered on, insert a paperclip or narrow tipped pen into the reset button slot on the back of the device:
    My Book Live
    Fig 1. — My Book Live
    My Book Live Duo
    Fig 2. — My Book Live Duo

  2. Press and hold down the reset button for four seconds. The device reboots (this may take up to three minutes).


For help with factory resetting or LED behavior on the My Book Live or My Book Live Duo, please see the following articles:
Answer ID 17785: How to Factory Restore a My Book Live or My Book Live Duo
Answer ID 17771: My Book Live and Duo LED Behavior





In case the answer did not answer your question, you can always visit the WD Community for help from WD users.

Please rate the helpfulness of this answer