How to erase a WD hard drive


It is possible to erase the drive by using macOS's built-in Disk Utility or Windows' built-in Disk Management.

STOP Critical: It is best to only connect the drive you want to erase and safely eject all other devices. Erasing the drive permanently deletes all of the data on the drive. Always make sure that you have another copy of the files on a different drive before erasing it.


Operating System
Instructions
mac OS Click Here for Instructions
(instructions will appear below this table)
Windows OS Click Here for Instructions
(instructions will appear below this table)


Please select the Operating System (OS) in which the drive is to be formatted from the list above to display the instructions.


In case the answer did not answer your question, you can always visit the WD Community for help from WD users.

Please rate the helpfulness of this answer